Albania

June 13, 2013 at 20:19 (Uncategorized)

Although I’ve been away for such a long time and although I probably should be studying real hard right now, I got the fabulous idea of writing a new post. For anyone who reads this at least, because you know what they say: “Out of sight, out of the heart”. At least that’s what the Belgians say. I just translated it.

There is a new love in my life. Part of me keeps thinking that it’s probably been there all my life, but now it shows. It’s travelling. Not just the usual “I’ve seen the Eiffel Tower” kind of travlling, but I mean the real thing. I have big plans, you know. I will see the world, even find out the secrets hidden back there in ol’ North-Korea.

Intermezzo: I’m now -at this very moment- realising that I’m actually writing a new post for my blog because sometimes people just get the urge of having to write and then they just have to, they must, and they start making very long sentences, but it doesn’t matter, because all they keep doing is wiriting, and suddenly it feels good, it feels like you don’t want to stop and this will go on eternally. But you have to stop eventually. Writing, that is.

About the travelling, though. It might be everyone’s passion, but there is this thing. Today a friend and I were eating student food in a cheap student restaurant, because we are only poor students. Then suddenly, this girl starts to hand people magazines. It always bothers me when people do that, because these magazines or flyers or whatever they give us are always the most boring things one can read. Anyway, I opened it. The first word I saw was “reizen” (travelling). Under this word stood the more specific word “Albanië” (Albania). So, I told my friend -since we were already talking about going on a trip, but not knowing where to go and with whom to go and when to go and so on- very enthusiastically that we could go to Albania. And that’s when  we started planning on going to Albania. Even though the reputation of the country isn’t the reputation of Norway. Nobody actually wants democracy, right? (At this point, I can start about North-Korea again.)

I’m not going to write any more today, because I want to start with a new, not too long post. There is only one interesting fact that I’d like to share with the world, or at least with the ones who are still unfamiliar with it:

‘James while John had had had had had had had had had had had a better effect on the teacher’ is a grammatically correct sentence. (If you need an explanation, please let me know!)

2 Comments

  1. Michael Cargill said,

    RFB! Where have you been? I’ve missed you all these months/years. You were out of sight, and out of mind, as we say on this side of the English Channel.

    I didn’t ever actually get the travelling bug myself, but I know lots of people who did and they enjoyed it lots. I hope you enjoy it lots.

    And that grammar thing… freaky stuff, I thought it was a joke. Turns out it has its own Wikipedia page – http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/James_while_John_had_had_had_had_had_had_had_had_had_had_had_a_better_effect_on_the_teacher

Leave a Reply

