Diary of a Planner

December 27, 2011 at 21:01 (Other, Uncategorized) (, , , )

Monday, November 28.

A conversation is going on. I suddenly suggest that we should go and drink gins and go ice skating around Christmas. That’s what people do where we live and it’s a nice thing to do.

Later that day: another conversation with another person. Do you already know how to celebrate (I hate that word) New Year? – No, we can just do something with all the ones who don’t know. – Okay. Let’s do that.

 

Tuesday, November 29.

I had a (little) accident. Need I say more?

 

Wednesday, December 21.

The exams were done at 10.10 a.m. that day and I had an appointment with my physiotherapist. Some friends stayed there and went for a drink or something.

In the evening someone calls. (Because everyone is anonymous in this blog, I’ll call her X).

 

X: Do you already know how you’re going to celebrate New Year?

RFB: No. *I don’t make plans*

X: Me neither. We can go and eat with Y (this is also a pseusonym), but there are no plans yet. And no one knows what he/she is going to do after dinner.

RFB: Okay, that’s good. There are some people who don’t know it either. Maybe we’ll do something with them. We’ll see. *still not making plans*

 

Thursday, December 22.

I was at a funeral far far away from home. It took me a whole day. Even had to get up at 7.00 a.m. on my day off! Anyway, in the evening the phone rings.

 

X: Hi, I was just calling to hear how your day was.

RFB: Was okay, what did you do today?

X: We went to Village T and drank gins and went ice skating there.

RFB: *pissed off, you motherf****** stole my idea and did it without me* Great!

X: Are you angry now?

RFB: Yes, but I understand, I couldn’t come with you anyway (because of the accident, you know, it’s a lose-lose-situation).

 

After one hour and 46 minutes the conversation ended. We broke a record!

 

Monday, December 26.

Maybe I should text E (also a pseudonym, I’m using random letters), because I don’t hear anything of him and New Year’s getting closer. *Still not making real plans*

 

RFB: Do the ones who don’t know what to do on New Year already what do to on New Year?

E: Yes, we’re going to a friend (this is not a friend of mine) to celebrate.

RFB: Ah, okay.

 

It’s getting on my nerves. Next year, let me know, please.

 

Tuesday, December 27.

Another conversation is going on. This is the last one, I promise. I hear two friends talking about all kinds of food and recipes.

 

RFB: What are you actually talking about?

U and I: About what we’re going to eat the last day of the year.

RFB: Ah, okay. Who’s coming?

U and I: Don’t you know that? We already discussed what to do and you’re coming, too.

 

Do I want that? Did anyone ask? If I didn’t ask who’s coming, would anyone have told me something was already planned? So many questions, so little information.

 

RFB: Ah, great. So where is it? How come I don’t know about anything?

U and I: You weren’t there when we discussed it. You had an apppointment with you physiotherapist.

RFB: Makes sense. But X told me there were no exact plans. Just maybe eating dinner together.

U and I: No, we’re going to celebrate New Year together and there will be pizza and pie and chips and … *Inside my head I hear a little noise, it’s going zzzzzzzz*

 

Next time, please warn me.

Always make plans with the right people.

1 Comment

  1. Michael Cargill said,

    Unless it is for something important I always find that plans complicate things. Decide it all too early and everyone starts pitching in with alternative suggestions and I just get annoyed.

    Doing things off the cuff ftw.

Leave a Reply

