België

November 26, 2011 at 21:40 (Other) (, , , , )

The new season of Top Gear started in Belgium. (I’m always angry when I hear that in every other country in the world some show is already a season ahead, when we in Belgium have to wait for another year to see it.)

I’m not here to tell you someting more about Top Gear, because if you’d like to know, watch it (it could be that you already watch it, so that would be a second reason for giving no description of the show). I’m here to ask you something:

in Top Gear (Monday, November 21) Jeremy Clarkson said the following: in France they have the Eiffel Tower, in Australia they have a famous rock and the Belgians have a urinating kid. Not in those exact words, but that’s what he said. That made me think. Because, maybe all foreigners see us as a people with a urinating kid. And, as I think about it, I really hope it’s not the first thing you think about when hearing the word ‘Belgium’.

Now, the question is (read: my questions are): do you really think about a urinating kid if you think about Belgium? If not, what do you think about, then? Do you know any Dutch words? Also, some say the language (Dutch, not French) sounds ugly. Does it? Have you already been in Belgium? If yes, where and did you like it? I’m just asking out of curiosity.

Of course, it’s not necessary to answer all these questions, but still: feel free to do so. Thanks.

14 Comments

  1. Lily said,

    I can’t say I’ve ever been, but I would like to go! Some of my family friends lived in Belgium for a while (now they live in Switzerland) and I never got to visit them! When I think of Belgium I guess I think of waffles! Ha

  2. Becoming Bitter said,

    Never been to Belgium, but I think of chocolates when I think of Belgium. Don’t know any words in Dutch.

    • Random Female Blog said,

      I’ll send you a box of Belgian chocolates, then! And about he words: ‘chocolates’ is almost the same in Dutch, you only write it with a ‘d’ (instead of ‘t’ (and there’s no ‘s’ in the end). So now you know a word!

      • Glamorholic said,

        I heard about your famous chocolate too…I forgot to say about that. :))

  3. Michael Cargill said,

    I think of the Schlieffen Plan.

  4. mooselicker said,

    Urinating kid? I don’t know that reference. Like Lily, I think of waffles first. After that it’s tennis. I think there are a lot of tennis players from there.

    • Random Female Blog said,

      Maybe it’s for the best that you don’t know much about that urinating kid (though you can google it with the words ‘Manneken pis’).

  5. backgroundbird said,

    I lived in Belgium for a year on Rotary Youth Exchange. I lived just below the French-Dutch border. Belgium is a severely underrated country, the quirkiest culture lies underneath the stereotypes. Every city I visited has a distinctly unique flavor, every person I met was easygoing and fun to be around, every day I spent there was well-spent. I’m planning on going back for study abroad next fall, if I get accepted to the program I want. If you want any other details, feel free to ask. I could go on and on about Belgium forever. 🙂

    • Random Female Blog said,

      So many questions, so little time… I will remind you of this offer someda, though!

  6. Glamorholic said,

    I didn’t know about the urinating kid :)). When I say Belgium I think about the capital of European Union, a state with many multinational companies where business is being made. I’ve never been to Belgium, but I intend to have my master’s degree there…I hope I can do that. :D…

  7. experiencelifeinfrance said,

    I have been to Belgium twice (actually I went to Brussels not long ago, I even posted about it on my blog :D)
    The first time I was in Belgium I was in Bruge!!! Lovely city!!
    When I think of Belgium I think of a lot of stuff (actually the urinating kid doesn’t even cross my mind); I think about mussels, fries, BEER (my favorite kind of beer in the world), Comic books and chocolate 🙂

Leave a Reply

