READ THIS

October 3, 2011 at 20:56 (Books, Culture) (, , , , )

I will start this post with a very long phrase with only two commas:

I think this is a very good moment to introduce a new guy in this random female blog of whom you might have never heard of, but I’m going to be the one to change that, because I think it’s a good idea to introduce a new person (although he already died) into somebody’s life since people invited good ways to tell other people what you’d like to tell without having to call them (you just go on the magical space called internet and start a blog) and so we should share everything we know and we like to make the world a better place and to use our options wisely.

That was it. The new person I consider worthy to introduce in one’s life is called Brian Duffy. He’s my personal idol for ever and ever because he made this picture:

.

Because this picture is one of the most famous pictures ever made, you (if you wouldn’t know it already, but I guess no one with bad taste reads this blog) should know that the man in the picture is David Bowie, also my idol for ever and ever.

I you must know: Brian Duffy died on the 31st of May in 2010. RIP, sad story. But for him it could be a consolation that you’re always greater when you’ve died. Tragic but true. Cfr. Kurt Cobain, Michael Jackson, John Lennon, Many Others, etc etc etc etc etc.

Next to this (in)famous picture our good friend Brian has made other pictures too, but if you’d decide one day that it’s time to see them, you’ll have to buy one of his amazing books (I have one, it’s called Duffy, fotographer, quite original, indeed, but it isn’t his fault, because when the book came out he had already died).

I will now stop and watch some reality on the beautiful invention called telly, the artist formerly known as television.

2 Comments

  1. Michael Cargill said,

    I hadn’t ever heard of Brian Duffy but I do recognise that picture.

    I also went to school with someone called Matthew Duffy and used to work with someone called Richard Duffy.

    Erm, that’s it.

    • Random Female Blog said,

      Haha, that’s nice! Let’s say it’s important to know some Duffys in your life.
      Or is it Duffies then?

Leave a Reply

